Mariposa County Then & Now

Mariposa Cnty - Monarch ButterflyOrganized in 1850 as one of the original 27 California counties, Mariposa was the largest county in geographical terms, with an area of about 30,000 square miles covering one-fifth of the state. It included most of present-day Mono and Inyo counties, all of present-day Merced, Madera, Fresno, Kings, Tulare, and Kern Continue reading Mariposa County Then & Now

Butte County then & now

Butte Cnty Oroville damOne of the original 27 California counties created in 1850, Butte’s borders encompassed geographical areas that today are parts of Lassen, Plumas, Tehama, Glenn, and Colusa Counties.   The original county seat was at Hamilton, on the Feather River; however, as Hamilton’s gold diggings were exhausted, the large Continue reading Butte County then & now